The community center system was established after the passage of the Texas Mental Health and Mental Retardation Action in 1965. The purpose of the community center system is to provide services to people with mental disabilities to allow them to live and work in the community.

The Heart of Texas Region MHMR Center was established by local taxing authorities in 1968 and is currently sponsored by McLennan, Limestone, Hill, and Bosque Counties. We serve six counties, including McLennan, Limestone, Hill, Bosque, Freestone, and Falls Counties. We provide services under contracts with federal, state, and other entities to individuals with a mental illness and/or a developmental disability identified as a priority population. We also serve developmentally delayed children.

The Center was renamed Heart of Texas Region MHMR Center (doing business as Heart of Texas Behavioral Health Network) in December 2021 in a rebranding action approved by the Center's Board of Trustees. The Center also earned Texas Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic (CCBHC) status in December 2021.

The Center employs around 450 full and part-time staff and is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees appointed by county commissioners.